Participation in SLA

Last week i read the blog post on the SLA blog about the election results for the 2015 SLA Board.  Congratulations to the new board.  One item in the news release disturbed me, “The new board members were chosen by the association’s members in an election that opened on September 3 and closed on September 24. Balloting was conducted online; approximately 23 percent of SLA members cast votes.”  The emphasis is mine. The voting turn out is something we should be ashamed of as an association and as a profession.  Why would someone join SLA and then not even bother to vote?  If you can’t bother to vote in your own professional association, why did you bother to join?

I have been a member of SLA for almost three years.  I have found it to be a great organization.  I actively participate in the Military Libraries Division and regularly attend chapter meetings and events of the UpState NY SLA.  I hope to attend SLA next year as well as the MLD workshop.

Why join any professional group if you are not going to expend at least minimal effort to vote?  It was a great slate of candidates. I know a few of them professionally and as friends.

If you can’t be bothered to vote, do you deserve a voice in our organization?  I hope those of you who didn’t vote at least feel a bit guilty.

